Additives and Functional ingredients in animal feed

Added in very small quantities to animal feed, additives and functional ingredients help to ensure healthy and balanced nutrition of animals.

The various ingredients used in animal feed ensure that farm animals have a rich and balanced diet. The quality of these ingredients is very rigorously followed by professionals in the sector. European regulation defines different families of components, among which are "additives". Functional ingredients are included in the regulatory category of feed raw materials.

 

What are the additives and functional ingredients used for in animal feed?


Additives and functional ingredients help to ensure healthy and balanced nutrition of animals.

They have various and varied objectives such as the improvement of the diet quality, the animal’s good development, their maintenance in good health, their welfare, and the reduction of environmental impacts of farming activities.

The placing on the market of additives is authorized by the European Commission on the basis of a scientific assessment by EFSA (European Food Safety Authority) thereby guaranteeing safety for animals, humans (consumers of milk, meat, eggs and fish and operators working in factories) and the environment.


What are the different types of additives used in animal feed?

Additives are classified into several groups :

  • Technological additives improving the quality and safety of feed, including their preservation, texture, and the homogeneity of feed. Among these: anti-caking agents, binders, antioxidants ...
  • Sensory additives improving the organoleptic properties of animal feeds and making them more palatable. We find in this category: dyes, aromatic substances ...
  • Nutritional additives supplying animals with all essential micronutrients such as vitamins, trace elements, amino acids...
  • Zootechnical additives play a key role in the quality of production, the reduction of environmental impacts, and the comfort and well-being of animals. We find in this group for example enzymes, probiotics ...
  • Coccidiostats or histomonostats used in the prevention of parasitic infestations, present in breeding (for example coccidia).

Les additifs et ingrédients fonctionnels en alimentation animale

 

Ajoutés en très petites quantités à l'alimentation des animaux, les additifs et ingrédients fonctionnels participent à garantir une nutrition saine et équilibrée des animaux.

 

Les divers ingrédients entrant dans l’alimentation animale assurent une alimentation riche et équilibrée des animaux d’élevage.  La qualité de ces  ingrédients est très rigoureusement suivie par les professionnels du secteur. La réglementation européenne définit différentes familles de composants, parmi celles-ci, on y retrouve les “additifs”. Les ingrédients fonctionnels quant à eux entrent dans la catégorie règlementaire des matières premières pour aliments des animaux.

 

A quoi servent les additifs et ingrédients fonctionnels en alimentation animale ?

Les additifs et ingrédients fonctionnels participent à garantir une nutrition saine et équilibrée des animaux.

Ils ont des objectifs divers et variés tels que l’amélioration de la qualité de l’alimentation, le bon développement des animaux, leur maintien en bonne santé, leur bien-être, et la réduction des impacts environnementaux de l’élevage.

La mise sur le marché des additifs est autorisée par la Commission Européenne sur la base d’une évaluation scientifique de l’EFSA (Autorité européenne de sécurité des aliments) garantissant ainsi la sécurité pour les animaux, les humains (consommateurs de lait, viande, œufs et poisson et opérateurs travaillant dans les usines) et l’environnement.

 

Quels sont les différents types d’additifs utilisés en alimentation animale ?

Les additifs sont classés en plusieurs groupes :

  • Les additifs technologiques améliorant la qualité et la sécurité des aliments pour animaux, notamment leur conservation, leur texture, l’homogénéité des aliments. Parmi ceux-ci : antiagglomérants, liants, antioxydants…
  • Les additifs sensoriels améliorant les propriétés organoleptiques des aliments pour animaux et les rendant plus appétants. On retrouve dans cette catégorie : colorants, substances aromatiques...
  • Les additifs nutritionnels apportant aux animaux tous les micronutriments essentiels tels que les vitamines, les oligoéléments, les acides aminés…
  • Les additifs zootechniques jouant un rôle essentiel pour la qualité des productions, l’atténuation des impacts sur l’environnement, et sur le confort et le bien-être des animaux. On retrouve dans ce groupe par exemple les enzymes, les probiotiques…
  • Les coccidiostatiques ou histomonostatiques utilisés dans la prévention des infestations parasitaires, présentes en élevage (par exemple les coccidies).